Women of the Year Lunch

Oxford University 2015 Blue Boat and Coaches were recognised by Women of the Year. The event brings together extraordinary and inspirational women who have made a significant achievement. Read on to see the full press release. 

PRESS RELEASE: 19th October 2015

Oxford University Women’s Boat Club recognised by Women of the Year

Members of Oxford University Women’s Boat Club from the winning 2015 Newton Women’s Boat Race crew will join over 400 women from all walks of life at the special 60th anniversary Women of the Year Lunch as a ‘2015 Women of Achievement’. The 2015 Newton Women’s Boat Race marked a landmark year in the long history of the event. It was the first year that both the men’s and women’s Races shared the same date and location, taking place on the Championship Course, the River Thames between Putney and Mortlake. On the 11th April 2015, After 8 months of training twice a day, 6 days a week, Race day marked the pinnacle of a season which had seen tremendous improvement from the squad.With over 300,000 people watching on the banks of the river, over 6 million people tuned in at home and more watching around the world Oxford University Women’s Boat Club stormed to victory over Cambridge with a margin of 6 ½ lengths.

Anastasia Chitty, 2015 Oxford University Women’s Boat Club President and fourth year medical student reflected on the year, “2015 was a fantastic year and we were aware that we were involved with something historic. Hope that in some way I have inspired other young women to strive for excellence and really go for those goals. I would love the lasting legacy of The 2015 Boat Race to be the opportunity for every woman and girl to feel the same."

This year’s event will take place on Monday 19 October 2015 at the InterContinental London Park Lane Hotel. Women of the Year has recognised, celebrated and inspired women of all backgrounds since 1955 and continues to shine a light on extraordinary women through an annual Lunch & Awards ceremony, lectures and on-going foundation work. The Women of the Year Lunch & Awards brings together more than 400 extraordinary women, all of whom have achieved something of significance. Each guest is regarded as a ‘Woman of the Year’ and represents not only herself, but the millions of women who make a difference every day. Sandi Toksvig, President of Women of the Year, said: “The Women of the Year has celebrated the wonderful achievements of women since 1955. Everyone involved is incredibly proud to see so many extraordinary women carrying the torch of those who came before. The remarkable women who make up the attendees and winners at this year’s Lunch are being recognised for their strides in making the world a better place.” Exceptional women will receive special awards at the Lunch for being an inspiration to others, demonstrated by their courage, selflessness and dedication.

These special Women of the Year awards are sponsored by Barclays, DFS, Good Housekeeping, ITV’s Lorraine and Prudential and will be announced on Monday 19 October 2015.

Recent Women of the Year winners include:

  • Doreen Lawrence, campaigner for justice following the murder of her son Stephen in 1993
  • Fahma Mohammed, anti-FGM activist
  • Founder of the Iranian and Kurdish Women’s Rights Organisation, Diana Nammi
  • Christina Noble, founder of The Christina Noble Children’s Foundation
  • Katie Piper, who set up a charity to help burns survivors after being victim of a brutal acid attack
  • Team GB 2012 Olympic & Paralympic Women Medallists
  • Joanne Thompson, who set up Millie’s Trust with her husband Dan in memory of their daughter Millie, who passed away when she was nine months old whilst at nursery

Previous attendees of the Women of the Year Lunch have included: Christiane Amanpour OBE, Fern Britton, Yasmin Alibhai Brown, Marie Colvin, Mel Geidroyc, Lindsay Lohan, Ellen MacArthur, Eimear McBride, Arlene Phillips, Zandra Rhodes, Margaret Thatcher, Jenny Tinmouth, Tina Turner, Fiona Wade, Harriet Walter, Julie Walters, Jacqueline Wilson and Kimberley Wyatt.