The first Women's Boat Race Between Oxford and Cambridge crews took place 1927 and became an annual event in the mid 1960s. Check out footage of the first race here.

The race has been rowed over a variety of courses and in 1977 established consistency on a 2000m stretch of the Henley Reach, finishing at Temple Island. The overall record of the the Women's Boat Race is Cambridge 40, Oxford 29, but since Oxford's victory in 2000, the Dark Blues have won eleven of the last fourteen races.

The Women's Boat Race is now sponsored by Newton Investment Management and made its historic move to the Tideway in 2015. For the first time since the men's racing rivalry began 1829, the Oxford Women raced Cambridge on the Championship Course, from Putney to Mortlake. Newton put together an animated history of the Women's Boat Race, looking into the race origins and the journey towards the historic race in 2015. Watch the video here, https://vimeo.com/90040729. 

Please visit theboatrace.org and follow the Oxford Women on their current 2017 journey.

Miss Pomphrett, the 1937 OUWBC cox, with the Francombe Cup